The 10th Kingdom is a classic fantasy TV series that tells a captivating tale over ten episodes. Virginia, a highly modern New Yorker girl, is at the center of the TV show. Unlike other girls, she dreams not of a fairy-tale prince, but of her own restaurant. However, the prince – although not in human form – one day finds her himself, which is not surprising as we are dealing with a fairy tale. One day, Virginia found a wonderful retriever that understands human speech in the central park of New York. Doggie is Prince Wendell who was turned into a dog by the evil queen and is now forced to be on the run.  The dog-prince needs help, as very hostile fairy-tale creatures follow on his heels. Deciding to help Wendell, Virginia goes to a magic world. She has to go through nine fairy kingdoms before she can help the prince regain his human form.

Interesting Facts

  • All episodes of the TV show were aired between February 27 and March 26, 2000 on the American channel NBC.
  • An attentive viewer may notice that the plan of the fairy kingdom is nothing more than a modified map of Europe, where the first Kingdom corresponds to Italy, and the sixth one to Great Britain.
  • It is noteworthy that the TV series was filmed before the terrorist attack on September 11, 2001. Before making “The 10th Kingdom” available for viewing through its platform, Netflix removed the Twin Towers from the TV show’s promotions.
  • Rutger Hauer, who played the Hunter on the TV show, is arguably the most famous cast member.


The 10th Kingdom is a US-UK-Germany fantasy adventure TV series. The first season of the TV show premiered on February 27, 2000 on NBC.

Related Shows

  • Dinotopia
  • Once Upon a Time


Tags: fairy tale, fantasy, adventure, comedy, fairy world, mini-series

Video & Photo

1 videos